|This article discusses a feature within the Sequence feature. Your clinic may not have this feature enabled, and therefore the items discussed may not be available for your configuration. Please contact support if you have any questions.|
Sequences provide a way to deliver automated messages to patients within your clinic at predefined points in time. Only those patients that are enrolled in a sequence will receive those messages. To improve the process of enrolling or unenrolling a large number of patients at one time, bulk enrollment handling has been released for sequences. This feature allows all patients within a clinic to be enrolled or unenrolled from a sequence en masse.
A single sequence can be viewed by clicking a single entry from the 'Sequences' listing (in the left hand menu). Below is a screenshot of a sequence with the Enrollees tab selected. This will show which patients (if any) are currently enrolled in the sequence:
The bulk enrollment handling features are available from this screen, by clicking either the 'Enroll' or 'Bulk Unenroll' button. Since the sequence displayed above has no enrollees, the 'Bulk Unenroll' button is disabled as it would provide no functionality.
When clicking the 'Enroll' button, a modal is presented with options for enrolling patients into this sequence. Two options are available:
- Enroll Individual Patient(s)
You may continue to enroll individual patients into the sequence from within the Specific Patients tab. Search for users by clicking the SELECT USERS input field, and typing a patient's first and/or last name. When the desired patients are selected (they will be added to the Enrollee listing) click the Enroll Patients button to enroll them.
- Bulk Enroll by Clinic
The new option, to bulk enroll patients, is available as the second tab All patients in clinic. This option allows you to select any of your clinics from the SELECT CLINIC dropdown. All patients within that clinic and also all patients within child clinics of that clinic will be enrolled by clicking the Bulk Enroll button.
For cases where the selected clinic has child clinics, a message will be displayed underneath the dropdown indicating the total number of clinics that will be processed:
A progress indicator will be displayed during the enrolling process. This is helpful if your selection has a large number of child clinics:
Two options are available for unenrolling patients from a sequence:
- Unenroll Individual Patient
When viewing the list of currently-enrolled patients, a trash can icon is located in the ACTIONS column for each patient. To remove this patient from the sequence, click this icon for the respective patient.
- Bulk Unenroll by Clinic
Unenrolling patients by clinic is accessed from the Bulk Unenroll button. When clicked, a modal presents the option to select any available clinic:
The handling is essentially the same as bulk enrolling. All patients within the selected clinic and all patients within child clinics of the selected clinic will be unenrolled. If the selected clinic has child clinics, the number of clinics will be displayed below and a progress indicator is presented during the processing.
Details Related to Bulk Enrollment Handling
For more advanced clinic arrangements and configurations, the following notes are helpful to understand:
- Bulk Enrolling Ignore Already-Enrolled Patients
When using the bulk enroll function, only patients that are not already enrolled in the sequence will be enrolled. Patients that are already enrolled will be ignored and not processed. If you wish to restart the enrollment of all patients in a clinic (regardless of their current enrollment statuses), execute a bulk unenroll and then a bulk enroll.
- Each sequence is clinic-specific
Each sequence is associated with a single clinic. Depending on your particular configuration, this clinic may or may not have child clinics. When enrolling or unenrolling, the available patients and selectable clinics are restricted to within the hierarchy of the sequence's clinic.
- If the associated clinic has no child clinics, the enroll account search will only show patients from that clinic. Likewise, the bulk enroll and unenroll clinic selector will only show that single clinic
- If the associated clinic has child clinics, the enroll account search will show patients from the associated clinic, and also include patients from any child clinic of that associated clinic. Likewise, the bulk enroll and unenroll clinic selector will show the associate clinic and also all child clinics of the associated clinic.