|The mobile application is configured for your clinic. Some or all of the features discussed here may not be available in your clinic's app. Further, an updated version of the app must be published to both the Google Play and iOS stores for new features to become available. The timeline for this release is custom to your clinic. Please contact support if you have any questions.|
Patients in the mobile app will now be prompted to enable notifications if the notifications are currently disabled. Notifications provide convenient and expected mobile app behaviors, and notify the user of activity when not using the app. The two common uses are:
- New message received notification
- Incoming video call notification
In cases when a user does have have notifications enabled, they will see the following display:
1. A red notification badge on the menu icon in the upper left
2. An exclamation point badge next to the 'App Permissions' menu item
3. A notice of items that 'Need Attention', which is in this case is 'Notifications'.
4. Clicking the 'Settings' button will bring the user to the respective app permissions for their phone. Depending on your platform:
Select the 'Notifications' setting
Enable 'Allow Notifications' and specifically, ensure the 'Banners' alert is enabled
Select the 'Show notifications' setting
5. When notifications are properly setup, the setting will be noted as 'All Set'
Why would notifications be disabled?
The are two scenarios in which a patient may be in a state where notifications are disabled:
- When a user first installs the mobile app and logs in, a prompt is presented to them to allow notifications from the app. If a patient declines to permit access to notifications from this prompt, notifications will be disabled
- A user goes into their phone's preferences and disables access to notifications